NOAA Hydrographic Services Review Panel

Public Meeting, September 24-26, 2024

LOCATION: Detroit Wayne County Port Authority, Waterview Loft Room

130 Atwater Street, Detroit, Michigan 48226

All topics, times and speakers are subject to change, please consult the latest online agenda.

Please RSVP: This is a public meeting and we would appreciate knowing that you

will attend for planning needs. Please register in advance:

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3166332242100530012



Tuesday, September 24, 9:00am-5:30pm – Day One

*All times are Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

9:00 – 10:00 am	Opening and Welcome	Mr. Sean M. Duffy, Sr., HSRP Chair Mr. Mark Schrupp, Port of Detroit Sen. Peters (MI), video Rep. Theander (MI), video Ms. Rachael Dempsey, NOS, NOAA RDML Benjamin Evans, OCS, NOS, NOAA and HSRP DFO		
10:00 – 10:15 am	Break			
10:15 am – 12:15 pm	Opportunities and Challenges for the NOS's Navigation Observations and Positioning Portfolio NOS Francis Scott Key Bridge Response	Moderator: Ms. Rachael Dempsey , NOS, NOAA Dr. Larry Mayer , University of New Hampshire, Dr. Marian Westley , CO-OPS, NOS, NOAA RDML Benjamin Evans , OCS, NOS, NOAA and HSRP DFO Dr. Shachak Pe'eri, NGS, NOS, NOAA		
12:15 – 1:30 pm	Lunch Break (HSRP working lunch)			

HSRP meeting documents/website: https://www.nauticalcharts.noaa.gov/hsrp/
Public draft last updated: 9/21/2024

1:30 – 3:00 pm	Local, Regional, State Stakeholder and Partner Perspectives on NOAA Navigation Services	Moderator: Mr. Eric Peace, HSRP member Capt. Richard Armstrong, USCG Detroit District Mr. Paul LaMarre, American Great Lakes Ports Association and Port of Monroe Capt. Tony Brandano, Lake Pilots Association Capt. Peter Barry, Port of Windsor Mr. Derek Cusimano, Great Lakes and Ohio River Region, USACE	
3:00 – 3:15 pm	Break		
3:15 – 4:45 pm	Underserved Communities Mapping and Charting needs in the Great Lakes Region	Moderator: Mr. Nathan Wardwell, HSRP vice chair Dr. Jennifer Boehme, Great Lakes Observing System Ms. Stephanie Gandulla, Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary Mr. Ed Bailey, Northwest Michigan College	
4:45 – 4:55 pm	Public comment period	Comments directed to the HSRP members from the public	
4:55 – 5:30 pm	Wrap up	Mr. Sean M. Duffy, Sr., HSRP chair RDML Benjamin Evans, OCS, NOS, NOAA and HSRP DFO	

Wednesday, September 25, 8:30am-12:00pm – Day Two

8:30 - 9:30 am	Recap and discussion of Day 1 and round robin with all members	Mr. Sean M. Duffy, Sr., HSRP chair RDML Benjamin Evans, OCS, NOS, NOAA and HSRP DFO	
9:30 – 10:00 am	Vdatum	Dr. Shachak Pe'eri, NGS, NOS, NOAA	
10:00 – 10:45 am	International Great Lakes Datum (IGLD)	Dr. Jacob Heck , NGS, NOS, NOAA Ms. Sierra Davis , CO-OPS, NOS, NOAA	
10:45 – 11:00 am	Public comment period	Comments directed to the HSRP members	
11:00 – 11:15 am	Break		
11:15am – 11:55 am	HSRP working group discussions	Mr. Eric Peace, HSRP member Ms. Mary Paige Abbott, HSRP member Dr. Qassim Abdullah, HSRP member Capt. Anuj Chopra, HSRP member	
11:55 – 12:00 pm	Wrap up	Mr. Nathan Wardwell, HSRP vice chair	

HSRP meeting documents/website: https://www.nauticalcharts.noaa.gov/hsrp/
Public draft last updated: 9/21/2024

Thursday, September 26, 8:30am-4:30pm – Day Three

8:30 – 9:30 am	Public meeting reconvenes and Day 2 recap	Mr. Sean M. Duffy, Sr., HSRP chair RDML Benjamin Evans, OCS, NOS, NOAA and HSRP DFO	
9:30 – 10:30 am	NGS Geospatial Modeling Grants	Moderator: Mr. Galen Scott, NGS, NOS, NOAA Dr. Jeff Freymueller , Michigan State University Ms. Mara Figueroa Berrocá , The Ohio State University	
10:30 – 10:45 am	Public comment period	Comments directed to the HSRP members	
10:45 – 11:00 am	Break		
11:00 am – 12:00 pm	Great Lakes Perspectives on National Drivers	Moderators: Mr. Nathan Wardwell and Mr. Eric Peace Ms. Erika Jensen, Great Lakes Commission Mr. John Bratton, LimnoTech Mr. Mark Breederland, Michigan Sea Grant Mr. Ryan Chatland, Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation	
12:00 – 1:15 pm	Lunch Break (HSRP working lunch)		
1:15 – 1:30 pm	NOAA Center of Excellence for Operational Ocean and Great Lakes Mapping	Capt. Andy Armstrong, (NOAA retired) Director Center of Excellence, Co-Director UNH Joint Hydrographic Center	
1:30 – 3:15 pm	HSRP Working Group, recommendation letter and other discussions - continued	Mr. Eric Peace, HSRP member Ms. Mary Paige Abbott, HSRP member Dr. Qassim Abdullah, HSRP member Capt. Anuj Chopra, HSRP member	
3:15 – 3:30 pm	Break		
3:30 – 4:15 pm	Around the room with the HSRP members		
4:15 – 4:30 pm	Closing comments	Mr. Sean M. Duffy, Sr., HSRP chair RDML Benjamin Evans, OCS, NOS, NOAA and HSRP DFO	