## 2016 HSRP WORKING GROUP STRUCTURE (updated Aug 1, 2016)

The following three working groups were affirmed at the March 2016 HSRP public meeting in Galveston, Texas. They update the prior four working groups under the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) Hydrographic Services Review Panel (HSRP) Federal Advisory Committee. Each working group will report back to the full Panel with relevant information or recommendations at public meetings for the whole of the HSRP will take into account in its role as an advisory committee to the NOAA Under Secretary. Two of the prior working groups on Policy and Legislation and Coastal Intelligence / Coastal Resilience are dissolved. The applicable work is merged into other working groups.

## Working Group #1: Planning and Engagement:

Identify and develop appropriate outreach to develop and coordinate with full committee for input on HSRP meeting agenda/themes; HSRP strategic direction; HSRP working group activities; coordination with NOAA Navigation Managers. Identify and develop appropriate outreach tools to effectively engage with relevant stakeholders to convey the key messages identified by the HSRP. Provide advice on the HSRP charter or legislative issues as appropriate.

**Co-Chairs:** Dave Maune, Joyce Miller

Members: Scott Perkins, Susan Shingledecker, Bill Hanson, Kim Hall, Ed Kelly, Gary Thompson,

Lindsay Gee, Ed Saade, Sal Rassello, Lawson Brigham, Larry Atkinson, Anne McIntyre

**NOAA Staff:** Lynne Mersfelder-Lewis

## **Working Group #2: Emerging Arctic Priorities**

This working group will focus on emerging Arctic issues, specifically Navigation Services support for the developing Arctic marine transportation system, including the geospatial positioning infrastructure, and other emerging coastal and marine issues in the Arctic region that will rely on products provided by NOAA's Navigation Services.

Chair: Lawson Brigham

Members: Larry Atkinson, Bill Hanson, Ed Kelly, Carol Lockhart, David Maune, Scott Perkins,

Capt. Salvatore Rassello, Andy Armstrong, Larry Mayer, Ed Saade

**NOAA staff:** Ashley Chappell

## Working Group #3: Technology

The technology working group will focus on providing advice and recommendations on the use of technology to optimize efficiency and enhance safety across navigation services activities and operations; including observations, processing and analysis, and production and distribution. This should include use of existing technology not currently in operations, and new and emerging technology in research and development. The working group will provide ongoing recommendations at the public meetings.

**Co-Chairs:** Ed Saade, Lindsay Gee

Members: Carol Lockhart, Gary Thompson, Andy Armstrong, Larry Mayer, Lawson Brigham, Larry

Atkinson

NOAA Staff: Neil Weston, Lynne Mersfelder-Lewis